top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGabriel Priem

Terrain Generation in Unity

After finalizing projects in GSAS Capstone, and considering the wonderful idea given to me by professor Ruzanka to engage in terrain generation based on musical input, I've finally decided to begin my tech dive straight into terrain generation in Unity engine. I found a tutorial for basic terrain generation on gamedevacademy's website at the following link:



I am currently hacking my way through this tutorial, making sure I can at least work up to having terrain generated based on basic parameters by the end of this weekend. I've surprised myself on how well I'm keeping up with the script writing, but I am concerned about the future. The creative aspects of the work will be in what parameters of music to use to define the various terrains, but I am not sure how to take musical input and generate terrain in real time. I can go into this in detail later, but the goal of my game for GSAS capstone is for players to composer ideas themselves, and I'll need to figure out how to generate terrain based on those ideas while the player is playing. For now, the following is a screenshot from following the tutorial on my system:




7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Final Reflection Post

My piece is going through the last bit of fine-tuning as I prepare the visualizer for a presentation. Today I will be organizing everything for a quality box submission, then tomorrow a presentation w

Music Composition Pt. III

With this latest edition of the musical adjunct to my music visualizer, I round out the piece with different tones and chords that are slightly dissonant, but overall mostly pleasing. With a larger sw

Music Composition Pt. II

This addition of musical material includes expansion of the ambient themes. I am trying to make it at least slightly interesting to listen to, while also organizing the piece with bits of tension that

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page