top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGabriel Priem

Spacial Organization in Musical Form

The paper below discusses the implementation of space as a part of musical composition and performance itself. They quote examples from Berlioz to Xenakis. Their very first figure illustrates different compositional approaches between frequency, time and space. Since I'm approaching this from an approach of games, I started thinking about how I could take a 3D, open world space that a player is allowed to navigate. Assuming they are only walking (nullifying the z-axis (height) for now), what would a program look like that would calibrate different areas of the space to play corresponding sections of a particularly designed piece. Different paces could be interpreted as subtly different tempos, sections of the map could correlate to different keys, and certain actions or minigames could affect articulation.


Paper by Boren,Braxton and Musick, Michael (so much alliteration)

http://hdl.handle.net/2027/spo.bbp2372.2018.007

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Final Reflection Post

My piece is going through the last bit of fine-tuning as I prepare the visualizer for a presentation. Today I will be organizing everything for a quality box submission, then tomorrow a presentation w

Music Composition Pt. III

With this latest edition of the musical adjunct to my music visualizer, I round out the piece with different tones and chords that are slightly dissonant, but overall mostly pleasing. With a larger sw

Music Composition Pt. II

This addition of musical material includes expansion of the ambient themes. I am trying to make it at least slightly interesting to listen to, while also organizing the piece with bits of tension that

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page