top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGabriel Priem

Self-Organizing Maps and Topography Interpretation

Continuing on the topic of my last post, I'm currently mulling over considering a custom environment made by the player. I could create a simple terrain editor that the player gets to create at the start of the game, and possibly have this map be interpreted through a system to create a method of sonification. Similarly, I'm considering recording map data as something directly controlled by the player in-game. Using Minecraft purely as an example, it's built into the game that the terrain is ever-changing, and that if monitored, the topography of the world could be the basis of the sonification of the world. If the terrain is constantly changing in some way, then that could directly affect what the player hears on top of their actions.


Self-Organizing Maps are something I considered in order to organize data that could be interpreted by a system, but while I think it would be cool, it seems to create more of an unnecessary middle-man without that much payout.


Wiki Page on SOMs:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Self-organizing_map

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Final Reflection Post

My piece is going through the last bit of fine-tuning as I prepare the visualizer for a presentation. Today I will be organizing everything for a quality box submission, then tomorrow a presentation w

Music Composition Pt. III

With this latest edition of the musical adjunct to my music visualizer, I round out the piece with different tones and chords that are slightly dissonant, but overall mostly pleasing. With a larger sw

Music Composition Pt. II

This addition of musical material includes expansion of the ambient themes. I am trying to make it at least slightly interesting to listen to, while also organizing the piece with bits of tension that

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page