top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGabriel Priem

Musical Sonification of Avatar Physiologies

Upon looking into the ideas explored by Professor Hamilton in his project ECHO:Canyon, a useful list of what was used as input data by the UDKOSC was listed in section 3.1:

-Pawn and Bot movement speed and vector data

-Projectile target location

-Camera location and vector data, as well as camera mode


These were a few of the ideas I was possibly thinking of messing with, but I hadn't considered camera mode. Also, ECHO:Canyon takes into account flight, which allows for consideration of the z-axis as well, which I was initially going to ignore for the sake of simplicity. Since ECHO:Canyon was done with the help of a visual artist to help with the environment, I'm trying to think ways to simplify the process, moving away from the shape of the environment (which is predefined) and more towards music somehow. I'm going to put more thought into the mechanics that I can mess with in-game, and where I should focus the attention of my compositional ideas.


Professor Hamilton's Thesis:

https://github.com/robertkhamilton/publications/blob/master/2013_lncs_hamilton.pdf

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Final Reflection Post

My piece is going through the last bit of fine-tuning as I prepare the visualizer for a presentation. Today I will be organizing everything for a quality box submission, then tomorrow a presentation w

Music Composition Pt. III

With this latest edition of the musical adjunct to my music visualizer, I round out the piece with different tones and chords that are slightly dissonant, but overall mostly pleasing. With a larger sw

Music Composition Pt. II

This addition of musical material includes expansion of the ambient themes. I am trying to make it at least slightly interesting to listen to, while also organizing the piece with bits of tension that

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page