top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGabriel Priem

Music Composition Pt. I

Attached is my day's progress of the piece I hope to include in my final presentation/project.


I thought about having a slow ambient opening, but I quickly realized it would be better if the majority of the piece is this slower, ambient style, and since there would be plenty of time to actually develop those kinds of themes, I took a different stance on the opening.


Part of how this composition's design is paradoxically successful. Since I know my project code's weaknesses the best (as I designed it to include certain things and leave out others), I begin the piece with short bursts of sound. This makes fun of the idea that my code is so reliant on longer stretches of sound and slow evolution, it'll begin to introduce to the audience how the code will be reacting to certain stretches of ideas. As the piece progresses, the range the instruments encompass will steadily grow and fill to be a huge, ethereal sound. The changes will also become slower and slower, with notes changing every bar near the beginning, to not changing for long stretches of measures.


I am just now realizing that Wix websites do not like handling audio by itself, but it is generous enough to afford a link, which will be the following attachment:



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Final Reflection Post

My piece is going through the last bit of fine-tuning as I prepare the visualizer for a presentation. Today I will be organizing everything for a quality box submission, then tomorrow a presentation w

Music Composition Pt. III

With this latest edition of the musical adjunct to my music visualizer, I round out the piece with different tones and chords that are slightly dissonant, but overall mostly pleasing. With a larger sw

Music Composition Pt. II

This addition of musical material includes expansion of the ambient themes. I am trying to make it at least slightly interesting to listen to, while also organizing the piece with bits of tension that

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page