top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGabriel Priem

IRCAM Forum 2021

A great forum of talented individuals. The first lecture I attended was with Carmine Cella speaking to mathematic generation of musical ideas. To be honest, most of it went over my head and seemed to advanced for me to understand. I was piqued by his description, however, of the "reduction" or "simplification" or "filtration" process (I forget what word he used exactly) that was used to sort and kind of modify musical ideas when orchestrating in Orchidea. He at one point demonstrated a kind of chart that reminded me of Punnett squares from biology, especially since he referred to some combined ideas derived from his algorithm as "offspring". This was interesting to me as a musical idea, as I had never thought of possibly composing around musical ideas in such a "natural" way. How could these ideas be applied to natural selection of music? What would dominant traits and such look like? Moreover, I wish he went into detail on some of how his algorithms work, but most likely that would've gone over my head too. Regardless, I am thinking of how I might make my own algorithms for generative music and would that could look like when applied to games. I also got an idea from Professor Ruzanka to use music created in my games as information to inform the creation of procedurally generated terrain. What would this look like in Unity...?



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Final Reflection Post

My piece is going through the last bit of fine-tuning as I prepare the visualizer for a presentation. Today I will be organizing everything for a quality box submission, then tomorrow a presentation w

Music Composition Pt. III

With this latest edition of the musical adjunct to my music visualizer, I round out the piece with different tones and chords that are slightly dissonant, but overall mostly pleasing. With a larger sw

Music Composition Pt. II

This addition of musical material includes expansion of the ambient themes. I am trying to make it at least slightly interesting to listen to, while also organizing the piece with bits of tension that

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page