top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGabriel Priem

Ideation for the Coming Months

Attached is a video discussing the compositional process of Olivier Deriviere, a composer who is using Wwise in cool ways in the triple-A scene. I think about this video a lot, and I am still sort of stuck on how to proceed with an idea for this class. I'd like for my project in this class to be only slightly related, if not at all, to the project I am going to be engaged with for my GSAS Capstone. Some of the ideas I had for a game/interactive musical venture:


--Game where the player is a composer and interacts with puzzles/objects in their environment in order to gain ideas for their own compositions. The audio included in the game would be every musical idea the main character/composer hears in their head, as if the player is inside their mind.


--Game where the player is a conductor in charge of music organization in real time. A suitable scope for this class would be a Guitar Hero like game with levels preset, possibly adding difficulty later. I would like for the actual game to include motion on the player's behalf, so the controller would be something close to, if not exactly like a Wii controller. It may be better to design my own controller/conducting baton for this project, which is equally exhilarating and terrifying because I don't know the first thing about hardware (CLASS). This kind of project would look good in VR...


--Composition that includes Wwise integration. I don't know what this would look. As wwise is designed to be in the middle of two things, one being audio, I would still need and like to have an interactive component.


--Game/Interactive Space that includes emphasis on spatialization and procedurally-generated tracks based on player movement and action. This would be something close to Journey, where the player's sole mission would be to walk around for now, which would give me time to work on a solid score, but I worry this isn't enough music tech. I would like to draw from the ideas I had last time I took Music and Tech II, where spatialization and mapping out sounds in a "sound-walk" kind of manner would be the keys to making the project work. This idea specifically cannot be a game without something more to do than just walking around...



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Final Reflection Post

My piece is going through the last bit of fine-tuning as I prepare the visualizer for a presentation. Today I will be organizing everything for a quality box submission, then tomorrow a presentation w

Music Composition Pt. III

With this latest edition of the musical adjunct to my music visualizer, I round out the piece with different tones and chords that are slightly dissonant, but overall mostly pleasing. With a larger sw

Music Composition Pt. II

This addition of musical material includes expansion of the ambient themes. I am trying to make it at least slightly interesting to listen to, while also organizing the piece with bits of tension that

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page