top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGabriel Priem

Composition Notes/Outline

As a result of multiple final projects arising that all have due dates weeks before the final project in this class is due, I had to shift my focus to these more pressing deadlines. Now that a few of them are drawing to a close, I can revisit my audio Visualization with more focus.

Because of the samples I have access to at this moment, I will be engaging with an orchestral piece. Because the overall audio visualization I have created is a bit slow (both in terms of how I set it up and how the numbers are stressing my computer), I want the majority of the piece to be ambient in nature. The slow movement of the piece overall will help the listener/audience to lock on to smaller changes on the cube more accurately. If a single note in a string section is held for an extended length of time, the small fluctuations in volume and timbre should reflect in the color and gentle pulsating actions of the tiles that make up the visualization in the scene.


The queues in the code that are used to update the colors and altitudes of tiles has a 1/8 influence towards the newest value introduced in the latest sample. This means 87.5% of what is influencing the different parts of the visualization at any given time will be data from the previous seven frames. This is a ratio I was happy with in development, but I must admit it limits the amount of rewarding data that can be had from quick changes of notes where only a few, quick samples can be captured.


Keeping this in mind, the overall piece will be slow and spa-like. If I can move different ambient motifs between different voices and sections, moving them slowly in and out, then the final result will hopefully be more mesmerizing. Similar sounds/ideas can be seen in slowly evolving synthetic soundtracks w/strings from works such as Sunshine and Bladerunner 2049.


Hopefully soon, I will post the first update on my initial work on the piece’s inception.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Final Reflection Post

My piece is going through the last bit of fine-tuning as I prepare the visualizer for a presentation. Today I will be organizing everything for a quality box submission, then tomorrow a presentation w

Music Composition Pt. III

With this latest edition of the musical adjunct to my music visualizer, I round out the piece with different tones and chords that are slightly dissonant, but overall mostly pleasing. With a larger sw

Music Composition Pt. II

This addition of musical material includes expansion of the ambient themes. I am trying to make it at least slightly interesting to listen to, while also organizing the piece with bits of tension that

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page