top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGabriel Priem

Color Implementation Pt.II

Color proved to be somewhat difficult in a complete implementation. Essentially I selected each freq band buffering queue as the basis for color, and it worked semi-well. Each queue holds eight of the most recent frequency values to window in on an average. The very first two (ignoring the first seven frames of the game starting up) are normalized in ratio to the recorded highest value over time and then averaged to form the R value of the RGB scale. Similarly, the next three are averaged to calculate the G value, and the last three for the B value. The function that does this is outlined in the code below.

The result is kind of bland and a little dark for what I wanted, but I wouldn't know where to start for beginning to fix it and in the interest of time it is best to just push forward with the project and revisit it after the scope of this semester. The following video shows the about mediocre result.



Next time I promise to use another music sample...

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Final Reflection Post

My piece is going through the last bit of fine-tuning as I prepare the visualizer for a presentation. Today I will be organizing everything for a quality box submission, then tomorrow a presentation w

Music Composition Pt. III

With this latest edition of the musical adjunct to my music visualizer, I round out the piece with different tones and chords that are slightly dissonant, but overall mostly pleasing. With a larger sw

Music Composition Pt. II

This addition of musical material includes expansion of the ambient themes. I am trying to make it at least slightly interesting to listen to, while also organizing the piece with bits of tension that

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page