top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGabriel Priem

Buffering 64 Frequency Bands

A relatively small update: I have extended the functionality of the buffering code that I established two weeks ago to encompass the extended frequency data that I am taking from Unity's audio analysis.


Using an an 8x8 array of Float Queues, I track the latest 8 values of each frequency band in a respective queue. I may change this to about 6, or even 4 of the most recent values, as that would increase some of the visual stimuli of spikes in different frequencies, while also providing a smooth motion. The following video can be viewed for the result of the smoothing, but may be a little difficult to see at first underneath the sporadic color implementation.


Plans for this weekend include extending the buffering system to color codes and RGB values. I don't quite know what this will look like yet, but we will find out soon. When it comes to hue assignments, the code will most likely store queues of a greatly extended length compared to the frequency band queues. For example, I'd like the overall averages of rgb values to change rather slowly, so I may store up to 30 different RGB values to encourage subtle color shifts and movement, especially keeping in mind that the majority of the piece composed to augment the final composition will be ambient in nature.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Final Reflection Post

My piece is going through the last bit of fine-tuning as I prepare the visualizer for a presentation. Today I will be organizing everything for a quality box submission, then tomorrow a presentation w

Music Composition Pt. III

With this latest edition of the musical adjunct to my music visualizer, I round out the piece with different tones and chords that are slightly dissonant, but overall mostly pleasing. With a larger sw

Music Composition Pt. II

This addition of musical material includes expansion of the ambient themes. I am trying to make it at least slightly interesting to listen to, while also organizing the piece with bits of tension that

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page